The Archive

Sunday, November 11, 2012

One-way States since 1992

States that voted only Democratic or only Republican since 1992.

(In other words, either for Clinton and Obama twice and against Bush twice, or vice versa.)

Only Democratic (17 states; currently 220 electoral votes)
Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont, Maine, Michigan, Wisconsin, California, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii

Only Republican (13 states; currently 102 electoral votes)
South Carolina, Mississippi, Alabama, Texas, Kansas, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Idaho, Wyoming, Utah, Oklahoma, Alaska

The states that have split to any degree contain 216 electoral votes. Republican candidates have needed approximately 168 (78%) of those electoral votes to win. Democratic candidates have needed approximately 50 (23%) of those electoral votes to win.

California currently contains nearly the entire difference in electoral votes. Were it a solidly Republican state, that would give the Republicans 157 electoral votes vs. 165 for the Democrats.

No comments: